Adulthood with pandemic

Nathalia Sampaio
2 min readApr 17, 2021

--

An essay about the daily life of the early twenties.

Photo by Josefa Diaz on Unsplash

I’m in my early 20’s. Along with millions of people worldwide, we’re in the middle of our graduation degrees, starting our first jobs, and, most importantly, trying to figure out our purpose on the planet.

It’s a tough task, to be constantly charged by our parents, families, friends, or whoever it might be, to consolidate our careers as soon as possible. Many of us weren’t taught how to achieve this, which leads us to the famous twenties crisis.

With this global pandemic, everything changed. Not just for us, but the whole world started shifting their consciousness through new habits and responsibilities. Many people lost their jobs and many found new ones just because the home office made it possible.

I was one of those people who could improve my career thanks to the elimination of geographical barriers. I live in the northwest of Brazil, work in a company from the southwest and also my University has changed. Actually, I wasn’t the only one who gave up my career to find a new one. Alongside, millions of young generation Z early adults engaged in new projects and started reflecting on the future.

We began new hobbies, new courses, new projects. We discovered the valuable time spent with our precious ones. Even if forced, we had to move, otherwise, two complete years would be lost.

I can certainly catalog this pandemic so far to generation Z in two stages: the first when we were all dumbfounded with the beginning of this global crisis and began a melancholic catharsis and the second where we started questioning the rules of our existence and decided to keep walking.

It’s a crazy thing when you look outside your window and it looks like nothing has changed: my road is still the same and my neighborhood just became a bit more silent. But, instead, everything has changed. I became a new person, my mind is a whole new individual and also the minds of hundreds, thousands, and millions of young adults.

It seems that we’re losing our precious age. The twenties should be the most cherished years of any individual, but we got caught in the web for COVID-19. This is frustrating for everyone, naturally, and it’s no exception for us. I wonder when we will be able to walk on the streets again, freely, with no constraints and no invisible menace.

I really hope we will encounter very soon a better future. Contrarily, in one year I’ll have to come back and write new paragraphs of this brief essay of the two stages of the global pandemic for a young, worried, and hard-working generation Z.

--

--

Nathalia Sampaio

Hi! I’m Nathalia, but you can call me Thalia. I’m a Marketing and Advertising student based in Brazil who loves chatting about video games and books. [she/her]